Great finale to show jumping at Mystery Creek

Samantha Morrison and Biarritz on their way to winning the World Cup qualifier at Mystery Creek

It was a great finale for Tauranga’s Samantha Morrison and her lovely Biarritz at the APL Show Jumping Waikato Festival at Mystery Creek when the pair won the Bayleys Real Estate FEI World Cup Qualifier. 

Of the 11 starters over the Gerrit Baker course, it was only Sam and Biarritz who managed a clear round in the two-round competition. While they had five faults in the first, they learned from that and nailed the second.

Those with 12 faults and less from the first round came back for the second, so it was just down to Samantha, Melody Matheson and Graffiti MH, Rose Alfeld and My Super Nova and Maurice Beatson on Mandalay Cove.  Melody added more rails to finish on 28 faults, Maurice had two more down and Rose continued her good form to drop only one rail and finish on 16 faults for second. 

I just thought I had to go ride it well,” said the 22-year-old Sam. “We just had to keep the rhythm and keep him going – Biarritz was just outstanding.”

The 12-year-old Selle Francais, who is by Lindberg des Hayettes, was certainly very excited coming into the tight indoor arena.

He is very alert and aware of what is going on around him so does get a little overexcited,” said Morrison. “He is just super, though. He tried his heart out. I am so happy.”

Samantha Morrison and Biarritz all smiles after winning the Bayleys FEI World Cup Qualifier

She felt when she walked the track that most competitors would be fine, but when she rode into the ring she realised it would take a lot of jumping.

The lines were forward, so you had to land and keep going. When I walked the track with Helen (McNaught-McFarlane) and Duncan (McFarlane), they just said to not panic. I owe a lot to them – they have been phenomenal this season with their support and teaching.”

Next on Sam’s list is Equitana Auckland, followed by the remainder of the World Cup series and then Horse of the Year.

I would like to win the series this year – I was third last season – and of course the Olympic Cup is a big goal.”

Today’s win moved Sam up to second on the World Cup leaderboard, with Rose holding on to her lead by just two points.

The next qualifier is in Hawera later this month.

Country TV Pony Grand Prix winners Funhouse and Emma Watson

In the Country TV Pony Grand Prix Emma Watson and Maddox Fun House clocked a double clear in 42.46 seconds to take the honours ahead of Olivia Dalton and Simply Samantha HH who had a rail mid-field but stopped the clock at 40.88 seconds. Georgia Bouzaid and Redcliffs Bill came home for third in the 14-strong field with a single rail in 42.02 seconds.

Results –

Bayleys Real Estate FEI World Cup Qualifier: Samantha Morrison (Tauranga) Biarritz 1, Rose Alfeld (Leeston) My Super Nova 2, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Mandalay Cove 3, Melody Matheson (Hastings) Graffiti MH 4, Emily Hayward (Te Awamutu) AP Ninja 5, Daniel Blundell (Auckland) Lavello 6.

FEI World Cup leaderboard (after two rounds): Rose Alfeld (Leeston) 37 points, Samantha Morrison (Tauranga) 35, Melody Matheson (Hastings) 22, Tess Clark (Gisborne) 21, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) 20, Emily Hayward (Te Awamutu) 18, Brooke Edgecombe (Waipukurau) 17, Daniel Blundell (Auckland) 13, Lily Tootill (Karaka) 13 and Clarke Johnstone (Matangi) 12.

Country TV Pony Grand Prix: Emma Watson (Morrinsville) Maddox Fun House 1, Olivia Dalton (Coatesville) Simply Samantha HH 2, Georgia Bouzaid (Cambridge) Redcliffs Bill 3, Brett Horsburgh (Cambridge) Showtym Endeavour 4, Tyla Hackett (Waiuku) The Dreamer 5, Peita Milne (Nelson) BG Lennox 6.

Dunstan Horsefeeds & EquiFibre Junior Rider Series: Matthew Irvine (Takapau) La Perla 1, Deanna Horsburgh () Ngahiwi Possum 2, Brayden Aarts (Pukekawa) George Jetson 3, Sophie Littlejohn (Auckland) Hawkesdale Remmy 4, Charlotte Amos (Cambridge) Kabo Marmite 5, Leeshelle Small (Ramarama) Mr Muscles 6.

Caledonian Holdings Amateur Rider Series: Julia Johnston (Tuakau) Starlight Dalaman 1, Andrea Kewish (Cambridge) Spring Fling 2, India Causebrook (Pukekohe) Code Air 3, Melanie Dudding (Tuakau) Country Zena 4, Kelsey Leahy (Cambridge) Showcause 5, Carla Ross (Taupo) Tricks Unlimited 6.

Dunstan Horsefeeds & EquiFibre Pro Amateur Rider Series: Jeremy Whale (Cambridge) Aldivo 2 1, Madison Crow (Hamilton) Lucius GNZ 2, Bob Bleakley (Whangarei) Airthrey Resolution 3, Emma Gaze (Ohaupo) Woodland Bug 4, Nick Brooks (Cambridge) For Fame 5, Cerys Tarr (Rotorua) Madam Coco 6.

FMG Young Rider Series: Mikayla Herbert (Rotorua) Grand Caballo 1, Oliver Croucher (Rotorua) Waitangi Surf 2, Maia Coster (Tauranga) Landenfeld 3, Elmo Jackson (Auckland) Next 4, Laura Inkster (Clevedon) Oporaes Jackamoe 5, Nakeysha Lammers (Hikurangi) Resolution 6.

Purepine Shavings Seven-Year-Old Series: Leeshelle Small (Ramarama) Mr Muscles 1, Duncan McFarlane (Taupo) Be Mine NZPH 2, Hannah Bodle (Morrinsville) Whakanui Homebrew 3, Helen McNaught-McFarlane (Taupo) La Riviere 4, Clarke Johnstone (Matangi) Dolly Blue 5, Rose Alfeld (Leeston) KBS The Irishman 6.

Mitavite Six-Year-Old Series: Katie Laurie (Mystery Creek) McCaw MVNZ 1.

East Coast Performance Horses Five-Year-Old Series: Vicki Prendergast (Matamata) Selena C, Luke Dee (Hastings) Clearcut Xtreme, Jaime Campbell (Cambridge) Malarkey, Jeremy Whale (Cambridge) Dolce NZPH =1.

Horse 1.00m Art 238.2.2 IJO
1 Sammie Smith Boom Boom
2 Siobhan Waters Coronella
3 Jo Marshall Banbury Biscotti
4 Ginny Parker Valentina M
5 Katie Laurie Dunstan Gale
Horse 1.10m Art 238 2.2 IJO
1 Carla Ross Tricks Unlimited
2 Emma Bettridge The Normanator
3 Deanna Horsburgh Smoken Up
4 Robbie McKay Tulsa Time
5 Jordan Smythe Dark Passion