South Island ODE Championship Day 1

Emily Cammock, Shaw Lee have the lead going into the cross-country at McLeans Island (Image: Jane Thompson)

Emily Cammock’s performance in the show jumping arena saw her rise to the top after the first two phases at the National Equestrian Centre, McLeans Island, in the CIC3* South Island one-day championship.

Emily recorded the only two clear rounds in the show jumping arena in the class, although did pick up two time faults on Shaw Lee.  However, that was good enough to take the lead from Corey Wood and Pick Up Line.  Corey, who has recently moved up to Canterbury from Southland, had a good lead after the dressage but with a rail down and  a bunch of time faults, has had to settle for second place at this point. Emily is right behind him on her second horse, Lewis, who recorded the only clear show jumping round under time.  Lydia Truesdale and Allander Rocket are having their first three-star outing, and had an unlucky rail and time faults in the show jumping.

Corey Wood and Pick Up Line, leaders after dressage but a rail and time faults in the show jumping have put them in second (Image: Jane Thompson)

The three-star competitors have a good challenge in front of them tomorrow over Nick Pyke’s course.

Many cross-country course designers had the benefit of Mike Etherington-Smith’s expertise at a seminar held at the NEC on Thursday, and all were very enthusiastic about what they had learned. Mike has already headed back to Adelaide to do the final work on his track at the four-star event, which takes place next weekend, but left some Australian residents here to keep an eye on proceedings.  Des Hughes is the Technical Delegate, assisted by Simon Green.  Des was originally from New Zealand, so we are not sure whether we can count him as an Australian, but he does have the accent!

Des Hughes (TD), Helen Christie, Stuart Bishell,(Ground Jury) Simon Green (Assistant TD)

In the two-star competition, Kirsty Sharapoff and Shoot the Breeze did a lovely clear round to overtake the dressage leaders, Larissa Srhoy and Rockquest, who added some show jumping penalties to their score.

Kirsty Sharapoff, Shoot the Breeze

One-star competitors had a challenging time in the jumping arena, but it was a delighted Molli Thacker who took the lead, adding just three time penalties to her dressage score. She has little room for error in tomorrow’s cross-country, as the dressage leaders, Anna Robertson and Valkyrie II, are just 0.2 behind her after a rail in the show jumping. Molli declared after coming out of the ring that she “won’t be able to sleep tonight!”  We hope you do get a bit of sleep tonight, Molli!

Molli Thacker, Happy Go Lucky, leading going into the cross-country tomorrow

Tomorrow’s weather forecast is looking good for cross-country day, and there are plenty of classes on, so it is an early start.

Photos can be purchased from

Dunstan Horsefeeds CIC3*
1 Shaw Lee Emily Cammock 58.1
2 Pick Up Line Corey Wood 61.3
3 Lewis Emily Cammock 61.3
4 Allander Rocket Lydia Truesdale 77.6
Hei Hei Pharmacy CIC2*
1 Shoot The Breeze Kirsty Sharapoff 47.3
2 Rockquest Larissa Srhoy 53.7
3 Lucero Giles Gormack 67.6
4 Star’s Ransom Mikayla Green 76.2
5 King Curtis Janelle Gibson 78.8
Ultimate Design and Renovation CIC1*
1 Happy Go Lucky Molli Thacker 55
2 Valkyrie II Anna Robertson 55.2
3 SD Amourosi Rebecca Smithey 56.6
4 WS Paradise Rebecca Wardle 59.7
5 Alfresco Anna Poole 59.9
Saddlery Barn CNC105
1 SE Gorky Park Brent Jury 30.2
2 Double Black Larissa Srhoy 33.4
3 SE Highveld Brent Jury 36.4
4 Tripel Shot Claudia Wilson 37.1
5 Citadelle Claudia Wilson 39
 Betavet CNC105 – Under 21 years
1 Braxton Boy Annabelle Jones 28.9
2 Ka Pai Kiwi Jordan Shrimpton 38.2
3 Tigerherz Georgie Dickson 38.5
4 Corcovado Rosa Millar 39
4 Tiger Woods LS Petra Green 39
Weatherbeeta CNC95
1 Mr O’Likely Rebecca Smithey 28.7
2 My Muskateer Holly Sanders 35.1
3 Logan Claudia Wilson 37.3
4 Des Emily Cammock 39.2
5 Tygra Lauren Enright 39.4
Lime Solutions CNC95 – Under 21
1 Te Puke Charlotte Thomas 32.8
2 Deja Vu III Georgie Dickson 34.4
3 Winston Lucy Cochrane 36.3
4 Mister Puzzle Caitlin Shrimpton 36.9
5 Yippee Ki Yay Fabriana McQuarrie 37.4
Equissage CNC80
1 Aquila’s Altair Alison Sutton 30.5
2 Wembleybrook Monarch Kyla Dimmock 32
3 Harlequin Spark Nicole Bulford 33.8
4 Amberfields Grace Hayley Egan 34
5 Peragon Bellini Hayley Thomas 34.5
5 Wallie Jo Hallenstein 34.5
Equissage CNC80 – Under 21 years
1 Mr Smarty Pants Ella Morshuis 30.2
2 Esperanza Power Trip Annabelle Boon 32.2
3 Rainbow Scout Caroline Holder 35
4 Airplay Georgia Levey 37
5 Illywhacker 2 Tinesha Benson 38.5
BurgerFuel CNC65
1 Chocolate Ice Nicola Sim 33.8
2 ESH Gratis Jinny Scholte 34.2
3 Heads Will Roll Cameron Boon 34.8
4 Karaka Commander Mette Nielsen 37
5 Sunset Hill Xmas Holly Grace Gormack 37.5
5 Strate Shot Claudia Wilson 37.5