Thoroughbreds to the fore at Taupo eventing

Donna Edwards-Smith & DSE Cluny took the honours in the CIC***. Donna was also 4th on DSE Tangolooma

Thoroughbred sport horses showed their grit and ability in testing wet conditions at the Taupo spring horse trials over the weekend, with former racehorses taking out the top three classes.

Donna Edwards-Smith had three starters in the NRM CIC3*, which was the first Superleague event for the season, and it was perhaps the underdog of the three – the least experienced, in any case – who prevailed. DSE Cluny (Traditionally) was having his first Advanced start and solid jumping performances sealed the win, despite 21.6 time faults over Robbie MacLean’s big, bold track.

Donna was also fourth on her former national champion, DSE Tangolooma, but pulled up her stable star, DSE Mr Hokey Pokey, who was leading the competition after the first two phases, when he lost a shoe early on the cross-country course.

Thoroughbreds took the top two places in the large and very competitive CIC2* class, with Clarke Johnstone having a decisive win on Kate Wood’s talented Wolf Whistle II (Storm Creek), adding just 2.8 cross-country time faults to their dressage score, to finish on 45.5.

Bryce Newman was second on Bates Our Entourage (Lucky Unicorn), while Clarke was third on In Disguise, and Angela Lloyd was ecstatic with fourth on her young mare Lyrical, who was having her first Intermediate start.

Former racehorses also had a clean sweep in the small CNC1*+ class, with the win going to Stephanie Vervoort on X Factor (Kempinsky), second to Fleur Rohleder on The Alchemist (Shinko King) and third to Jade Le Petit and Agricola (Zabeel).

Abby Lawrence won the Taupo Vet Centre CIC* riding the Anamour gelding Anonymous; the pair had a show jumping rail but were the only combination under the cross-country time. Megan Finlayson was a close second on Greensleeves.

There were a string of withdrawals in the Willowbrook Farm CNC*, no doubt due to the deteriorating conditions, and the win went to the consistent combination of Louise Mulholland and Mr McTaggart, with Sam Felton second and third on Ricker Ridge Pico Boo and RR Sooty GNZ.

There were three large CNC105 classes, who had all three phases on the Saturday so were lucky enough to have their cross-country before the rain set in. The winners were Monica Oakley and her classy mare Festival, Denise Rushbrook and Astek Gadzuks, and Dannie Lodder on Apteryx.



ESNZ Eventing Super League

Points after first leg:

Donna Edwards-Smith (Te Kauwhata), DSE Cluny, 32 pts; Andy Daines (Kumeu), Spring Panorama, 30 pts; Samantha Felton (Matangi), Ricker Ridge Rui, 6 pts; Edwards-Smith, DSE Tangolooma, 6 pts; Renee Faulkner (Papakura), Rubinstar HH, 6 pts.



1 NRM CIC***
1 Donna Edwards-Smith DSE Cluny
2 Andrew Daines Spring Panorama
3 Samantha Felton Ricker Ridge Rui
4 Donna Edwards-Smith DSE Tangolooma
5 Renee Faulkner Rubinstar HH
1 Clarke Johnstone Wolf Whistle II
2 Bryce Newman Bates Our Entourage
3 Clarke Johnstone In Disguise
4 Angela Lloyd Lyrical
5 Abby Lawrence Charlton Yamani
3 Dynavyte CNC**
1 Samuel Amon Trojan Warrior
2 Greer Caddigan Gymnastik Showdown
3 Jonathan Paget Snow Leopard
4 Taupo Vet Centre CIC*
1 Abby Lawrence Anonymous
2 Megan Finlayson Greensleeves
3 Monica Oakley Illustrious
4 Greer Caddigan Mr Mancini
5 Shannon Galloway Day Walker
5 Wairakei Resort CNC*+
1 Stephanie Vervoort X Factor
2 Fleur Rohleder The Alchemist
3 Jade Le Petit Agricola
4 Nick Brooks For Fame
6 Willowbrookk Farm Equestrian Ltd CNC*
1 Louise Mulholland Mr McTaggart
2 Samantha Felton Ricker Ridge Pico Boo
3 Samantha Felton Ricker Ridge Sooty GNZ
4 Alex Chambers-Steward F.I.S de Lago
5 Cherie Jaques Black Gem
7A CNC105A – Restricted
1 Monica Oakley Festival
2 Catherine Taylor Lorrenzo Farrero
3 Jenny Pearce Top Steel
4 Beth Clothier De La Mexican
5 Jeffrey Amon RM Limbo
7B CNC105B – restricted
1 Denise Rushbrook Astek Gadzuks
2 Ingrid Herdson Mr Tambourine Man
3 Monica Oakley Artist
4 Jeremy Walshe Harlequin Outlaw
5 Jeffrey Amon Soleil
8 Take the Moment CNC105
1 Dannie Lodder Apteryx
2 Jeffrey Amon JA Take a Shot
3 Louise Mulholland Sandros Salute MW
4 Dana Hawkins Bold Trader
5 Eden Doull Noble Value
9A CNC 95A Restricted
1 Christen Lane Henton First Lady
2 Lexi Rutherford Meersbrooke Hot Ice
3 Cherie Jaques Wizard
4 Anna Gray Twickenham
5 Bundy Philpott Regal Riems
9B CNC 95B Restricted
1 Eleisha Walls Daimler Benz
2 Victoria Grayling NRM Joseph
3 Ingrid Bardsley Apatchi Lad
4 Kady Prujean VPS Call Me Cash
5 Abby Lawrence Lion Rock
9C CNC 95C Restricted
1 Piper Gargan Silver Force
2 Sienna Parr Glencoe Boss
3 Robyn McLaughlin Clifton Domino
4 Gemma Hampson Rocco
5 Lizzie Green Comanche II
10 CNC 95
1 Michaelee Head Chantilly Lace III
2 Steph Sole Power Play
3 Sophie Wilkinson BL Benefaction
4 Sophie Wilkinson Astek Varius
5 Ashley Johnston Miss Vee NZPH
11A Spot On Photo CNC 80A
1 Eliza Raven Carter PSH
2 Raye Dimock Candy Man
3 Virginia Thompson Star Anise
4 Kim Berry Yondu
5 Charlotte Edwards Charlton Cabaret
11B Spot On Photo CNC 80B
1 Olivia Bissett Blockbuster
2 Helen McGrath Woodbine Just Magic
3 Nicole Rogers Flicka
4 Hilary Samuel Ekraar Star
5 Beth Wilson Arohanui II
11C Spot On Photo CNC 80C
1 Jude Arnold K C
2 Emilie Husillos Cisco Kid GNZ
3 Andrew Daines Prince Charming
4 Harriet Barber Glenbrooke Jordie Girl
5 Scott Groombridge Call Me Colin