Jump for Cancer at Hagley Park

Beautiful Hagley Park in the middle of Christchurch has hosted many sporting events in the past, but is this the first time show jumping has been held there?

Jump for Cancer

We’re looking forward to this innovative new event to be held at the wonderful Hagley Park in Christchurch. Jump For Cancer Hagley will take place on Friday 24th March.

The jumping starts at 4pm in the special events area in North Hagley Park. You can enter the main gates on Park Terrace near Christ’s College and there is parking available down that driveway. The VIP tickets are apparently sold out but the event is free to view in other areas. It is suggested you wear warm clothes and bring picnic chairs and rugs, and there are food vans selling lots of different things on site – from Italian to potatoes!

All proceeds go to the Breast Cancer Foundation and cancer survivor Jake Bailey is the guest speaker in the VIP tent.

Lucy Fell finished 6th on Tinapai in The Country TV World Cup Final but has won two qualifying World Cup classes (Image: Libby Law Photography)

Two North Islanders have made the trip down – Ellie Phillips and Lucy Fell – but they are up against some pretty hot South Island competition at 1.25, including Kirsty Sharapoff and her three-star eventer Shoot the Breeze. Rose Alfeld’s My Super Nova is the current National Grand Prix champion and has been showing some great form over fences far larger than he will encounter at Hagley Park. Todd Magner’s Awatuna Jonesy won two titles at the Nationals: Junior Champion and the 1.20 championship. The National 1.30 champions, Katie Meredith and Westgrove GNZ, are also competing.

Rose Alfeld and My Super Nova are just returning from a good North Island campaign where among their wins was the Bayleys Tauranga Classic 1.35 – 1.45m. (Image: Cornege Photography)

The star entrant in the pony class is 2017’s Pony of the Year, Moonlight Glow, with Steffi Whittaker. The pair won the title in Hastings just two weeks ago.

Steffi Whittaker and Moonlight Glow on their victory lap after a great win in the Pony of the Year (Image: Take the Moment)

Horses compete for $1,000 first prize and ponies are contesting a $500 first prize. The running order is:

Open Horse TA2 (Article 238/2.1) 1.25m
1          Cricklewood Ace               Nicole White
2          Kings Repicharge              Florence Tapley
3          Bella Vi                            Sally Spicer
4          Wenrose Vertigo                Jaimee Bird
5          Shoot The Breeze              Kirsty Sharapoff
6          Double J Rumours             Lucy Fell
7          My Super Nova                 Rose Alfeld
8          Ngahiwi Summer               Kimberley Bird
9          Icebreaker II                     Tayler Nalder
10        Awatuna Jonesy                Todd Magner
11        Gingerlily                         Kerry Winterbourn
12        Tui B                               Taryn Beattie
13        Strictly NZPH                    Jack Ford
14        Elysium GNZ                    Elle Phillips
15        Winterberg                       Devon van Til
16        Vivaldi NZPH                    Kaitlin Feast
17        Double J Bouncer              Harry Feast
18        MJ Lubeck                       Mary Wakeman
19        Rockquest                        Larissa Srhoy
20        Westgrove GNZ                 Katie Meredith
21        Lil LeRoux                        Nicole White

Open Pony TA2 (Article 238/2.1) 1.15-1.20m
1           Junior Disco                      Rosa Buist-Brown
2           Rednalhgih Cowan             Grace Manera
3           Double J Yippee                 Dan Harkerrs
3           Moonlight Glow                  Steffi Whittaker
4           Mangakaraa Carbon            Rohan Tennekoon
5           Te Mata Miss                      Annabel Francis
6           Tallyho Neptune                 Sophie Townsend
7           Awatuna Louis Vivant         Kirk Magner
8           Onisha                              Noah Coutts
9           Mr Black Magic                  Olivia Adams
10         Ellen Vanin Untouchable     Holly Crean
11         Tui Gold                            Kimberley Crack
12         Tallyho Cleopatra               Gretchen Anderson
13         Jubilee Showman               Polly Harper
14         Tallyho Scoundrel               Grace Manera