Maurie gets the quinella!

Maurice Beatson on Conyers
Maurice Beatson, shown here on Conyers who finished second, had a great day

Long-time campaigner Maurice Beatson bagged a quinella today in the Country TV Premier League at the Dunstan Horsefeeds Wairarapa Show Jumping and Show Hunter Championships in Masterton.

He had three in the class, with two going through to the jump-off over Heather McDonald’s course. There were no clears in the opening round, so three combinations on four faults went through for the jump-off – Maurice with Schimmel Warrior and Conyers, and young Emily Hayward-Morgan (Te Awamutu) on AP Ninja.

Maurie had the luxury of being the last to go with Schimmel Warrior, and was already leading with Conyers on four faults, as Emily had picked up eight in her round.

I knew I just had to go clear,” he said. “Schimmel jumped really well today.” He also finished fourth aboard Mandalay Cove. 

The result backs up Maurie’s efforts in the opening World Cup round on Friday, where he was third with Conyers and fourth with Schimmel Warrior.

It’s nice to be going well at the beginning of the season,” he said. “We’re looking forward to a busy season ahead. We’ll just keep chipping away at it.”

In the Equissage Pony Grand Prix, five of the 11 starters came back for the jump-off. Olivia Ahlborn (Napier) and Aorangi Ragtime took the honours with a smart double clear in 30.4 seconds, just ahead of the in-form Emma Watson (Morrinsville) and Phantom Warrior, who were clear in 30.55.

New to the show was the futurity class for five-, six- and seven-year-olds. This attracted 22 entries, and horses jumped in their age-group heights but against each other for the final.

Show coordinator Jenny Booth was very pleased with the interest in the new class, which is popular overseas and had been suggested by her daughter Nicki who has spent a lot of time riding in Ireland where futurity classes are popular.

It’s a chance to showcase all the great breeding going on in the country and give these young horses a chance to experience the atmosphere of the main ring,” she said.

The class was won by Logan Massie (Dannevirke) and Double J Beyonce.

The three-day show – the first premier event of the season – attracted just under 400 horses.



Country TV Premier League: Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Schimmel Warrior 1, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Conyers 2, Emily Hayward-Morgan (Te Awamutu) AP Ninja 3, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Mandalay Cove 4.


Equissage Pony Grand Prix: Olivia Ahlborn (Napier) Aorangi Ragtime 1, Emma Watson (Morrinsville) Phantom Warrior 2, Sophie Scott (Wellington) Benrose Playtime 3, Georgia Percy (Wairarapa) Surprise Illusion 4, Emma Watson (Morrinsville) Fun House 5, Ally Carson (Putaruru) Tony The Pony 6.


FMG Young Rider Series: Emily Hayward-Morgan (Te Awamutu) Yandoo Lady Gold 1, Nicholas O’Leary (Wanganui) Obeone Kanobe 2, Emily Fraser (Bulls) Kiwi Sunray 3, Briar Burnett-Grant (Taupo) Fiber Fresh Veroana 4, Billie Scotson (Porirua) Automatic 5, Hannah Fraser (Bulls) Vendange 6.


Cortaflex Seven-Year-Old Series: Leeshelle Small (Ramarama) AMS Ajaccio NZPH 1, Daniel Webb (Hunterville) Cardo 2, Bernard Denton (Feilding) Horsesports Sequell 3, Sally Clark (Dannevirke) Argio 4, Kimberley Winks (Taranaki) Damiana 5, Emma Thurlow (Waverley) Heard It All 6.


Mitavite Six-Year-Old Series: Logan Massie (Dannevirke) Crusader Xtreme, Karen Bruce (Masterton) Double J Breeze On, Lucy Fell (Opiki) Faratona STS, Matt Irvine (Takapau) La Perla, Ally Carson (Putaruru) Letano, Sally Clark (Dannevirke) Roman Warrior =1.


East Coast Performance Horses Five-Year-Old Series: Lucy Fell (Opiki) Big and Rich, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Central Park, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Clear Gold, Logan Massie (Dannevirke) Double J Beyonce, Amanda Illston (Bulls) Iguazu, Matt Irvine (Takapau) Indeed and Nicki Booth (Wairarapa) Roxette ECPH =1.


Lincoln University Junior Rider Series: Blake Davis (Palmerston North) Giggles 1, Ike Baker (Pauatahanui) Hawkesdale Mahe 2, Briar Burnett-Grant (Taupo) Fiber Fresh Casallita 3, Shanae McKay (Levin) TNT 4, Matt Irvine (Takapau) Wall Street III 5, Georgia Percy (Wairarapa) Lowenbehold 6.


Caledonian Holdings Amateur Rider Series: Kristin Robinson (Ashhurst) Ngahiwi Indiva 1, Louise Bowie (Pahiatua) Kiwi Hammer 2, Ashley Johnston (Porirua) Miss Vee NZPH 3, Carmyn Strawbridge (Waipukurau) Just Kick On 4, Morgan Percy (Masterton) Rampant 5, Glen Hicks (Hastings) Kiwi Hope 6.


Let’s Bale Pro Amateur Rider Series: Marcus Rose (Dannevirke) Flashover 1, Natasha Mazey (Plimmerton) 2, Daniel Webb (Hunterville) Abenaki Chief 3, Alex Loiselle (Dannevirke) Clearwater 4, Tim Pearce (Marton) Oracle WT 5, Chloe Hansen (Opiki) Kiwi Motto 6.


Futurity Horse Five, Six and Seven-Year-Old Final: Logan Massie (Dannevirke) Double J Beyonce 1, Karen Bruce (Masterton) Double J Breeze On 2, Daniel Webb (Hunterville) Cheyenne 3, Kimberley Winks (Taranaki) Damiana 4, Marielle Ericksson (Otaki) Catapult Xtreme 5, Karen Bruce (Masterton) Double J Promise 6.