New dressage squads

Great to see two riders make it to the Ponies Squad as Dressage NZ announces their latest national squads.

The new dressage squads have been announced by ESNZ Dressage and congratulations to all those hardworking people who have made it to this list (see below).

It is also great to see a Pony Squad being named. Well done to Morgan Beere and Lily Jefferies for this huge achievement.

Alex Matheson Waikato  Lingh II
Greg Smith Waitemata  Avante Garde
Rochelle Speirs Central Districts Vollrath Latimer
Charmian Pearson-White Waitemata Wimborne Conniston
John Thompson Waikato Kalimna Hotshot
Nicola Maley Canterbury Astek Galahad
Vanessa Way Taranaki NRM KH Arion
Anya Noble Waikato Airthrey Highlander
Kate Tobin Wellington I Like It
Louise Ayres Wellington Playmate
Sarah Wadworth Marlborough Faemoss BW
Devon Raos Auckland Busuto
Tessa Van Bruggen Marlborough Furst Jupp
Tessa Van Bruggen Marlborough Fortunato
Julie Flintoff Northland Belladonna MH
Lauren Haig Canterbury Grandioso BH
Mihi Sheperd Northland Hot Chocolate MH
Melissa Galloway Marlborough Windermere Johanson W
Melissa Galloway Marlborough Windermere J Obei W
Chelsea Callaghan Wellington Sisters II Etta J
Morgan Beere Waikato Wembleybrook Sergio
Lily Jefferies Wellington Prima Magneto


The eligibility criteria for the squads (as stated on ESNZ’s website) includes that riders are selected based on performance criteria met and the soundness of horse. They must be committed to self-improvement and committed to be good team members. Selectors look at the potential of the combinations to progress to other squads including the national squads right through to the High Performance Squad. Riders must act in accordance with ESNZ constitution, regulations and code of conduct.

Members of the squads complete an Individual Performance Plan in conjunction with their personal coach and, subject to funding, training opportunities and sport science workshop later in 2016 are provided.

As well as these, there is the High Performance Squad of John Thompson and Julie Brougham and the accelerator squad, currently named as Penny Castle, Wendi Williamson, Abbie Deken, Lucarne Dolley, Susan Tomlin, Sheena Ross and Debbie Barke.