Emily Hayward-Morgan’s sensational season continues

Emily Hayward-Morgan has had a great season so far and has just finished it with a GP win!

Emily Hayward Morgan at the Horse of the Year Show
Emily Hayward Morgan at the Horse of the Year Show

Te Awamutu teen Emily Hayward-Morgan’s sensational season has continued with victory in the big class at the Equestrian Sports NZ Series Grand Final show in Masterton.
Coming into the show, Hayward-Morgan already had the Canterbury Equestrian Young Rider and Telford Junior Rider sewn up, and today she outgunned a strong field to win the Excel Premier League Grand Final, lifting herself to fifth equal in the series. The win added to her second in the Equissage Horse Grand Prix Series Final yesterday. Series winner Helen McNaught-McFarlane (Taupo) and Carnutelabryere did not attend but could not be beaten going into the final rounds.

Ten started over the challenging Heather McDonald-designed track, eight going through to the second round against the clock, with four sitting on zero faults. Hayward-Morgan was last to go and flew home almost two seconds clear of second-placed Mathew Dickey (Oakura) on Quango.

Samantha Morrison (Tauranga) and Frangipanne de Toxandria won the Canterbury Equestrian & Dunstan Young Rider, while the Let’s Bale Pro Am went to Show Hunter Horse of the Year winners Chloe Hansen (Palmerston North) and Kiwi Motto, with Chloe retaining her second spot in the series behind Gore’s Amanda Roy.

The age-group series finals were all hotly contested with series honours still up for contention. The East Coast Performance Horses Five Year Old was won by Helen Kippen (Havelock North) and Believe NZPH, the Mitavite Six Year Old went to Bernard Denton (Gisborne) on Whiorau Ritchie and the ESNZ Seven Year Old was won by last year’s six year old series winner, Carol Stewart (Tokoroa) on her rescue horse Hit Parade.

Today also marked the first round of the FEI Children’s World Challenge for 12-14 year olds, which concludes tomorrow with the final day of competition of the Copthorne Glistening Waters Show Jumping and Show Hunter Series Final Show.

The gala awards dinner is underway at the showgrounds where the season’s series’ winners will be announced during the evening.

Here’s our gallery of photos from Striding Images and the full results are below the gallery.

EXCEL Premier Horse League Series Finals: Emily Hayward-Morgan (Te Awamutu) AP Ninja 1, Mathew Dickey (Oakura) Quango 2, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Schimmel Warrior 3, Oliver Edgecombe (Waipukurau) Ultra Blue NZPH 4, Carrisa McCall (Auckland) Esteban MVNZ 5, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Conyers 6.

Let’s Bale Pro Amateur Rider Series Final: Chloe Hansen (Palmerston North) Kiwi Motto 1, Sally Clark (Dannevirke) Victoria’s Secret 2, Sarah Dalziell (Masterton) Benrose Super Star 3, Claudia Porter (Napier) Mr Wiggle 4, Claudia Porter (Napier) Joia Hara 5, Sarah Jocelyn (Lower Hutt) Curioso 6.

Canterbury Equestrian & Dunstan Young Rider Series Final: Samantha Morrison (Tauranga) Frangipanne De Toxandria 1, Emily Fraser (Bulls) Kiwi Sunray 2, Emily Fraser (Bulls) Voila 3, Emily Hayward-Morgan (Te Awamutu) Yandoo Lady Gold 4, Briar Burnett-Grant (Taupo) Fiber Fresh Veroana 5, Georgia Massie (Dannevirke) Larinium LS 6.

Nano 7 Year Old Grand Final: Carol Stewart (Tokoroa) Hit Parade 1, Harry Feast (Christchurch) Double J Bouncer 2, Tegan Fitzsimon (Christchurch) Double J Monarch 3, Robert Steele (Dannevirke) LT Holst Bernadette 4, Briar Burnett-Grant (Taupo) Fiber Fresh Veroana 5, Helen Kippen (Havelock North) Velocity NZPH 6.

Mitavite 6 Year Old Series Final: Bernard Denton (Gisborne) Whiorau Ritchie 1, Jesse Linton (Hastings) Popeye 2, Cerys Tarr (Rotorua) Madam Coco 3, Kimberley Winks (New Plymouth) Damiana 4, Sally Clarke (Dannevirke) Argio 5, Tegan Fitzsimon (Christchurch) Corlinka 6.

East Coast Performance Horses 5 Year Old Series Final: Helen Kippen (Havelock North) Believe NZPH 1, Oliver Edgecombe (Waipukurau) Equador MW 2, Tegan Fitzsimon (Christchurch) Windermere Cappuccino 3, Tracy Mason (Napier) WP Stella 4, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Bluewater 5, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Roman Warrior 6.

Equissage Horse Grand Prix Series Final: Lucy Akers (Opiki) Tinapai 1, Emily Hayward-Morgan (Te Awamutu) AP Ninja 2, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Mandalay Cove 3, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Conyers 4, Lucy Akers (Opiki) Letitbe GNZ 5, Simon Wilson (Waipukurau) McMillans Smooth Dude 6.

Country TV Pony Grand Prix Series Final: Olivia Ahlborn (Napier) Aorangi Ragtime 1, Steffi Whittaker (Christchurch) Moonlight Glow 2, Sophie Scott (Wellington) Benrose Playtime 3, Annabel Francis (Darfield) Te Mata Miss 4, Ally Carson (Putaruru) Tony The Pony 5, Rohan Tennekoon (Christchurch) Mangakaraa Carbon Copy 6.

Telford Junior Rider Series Grand Final: Nicholas O’Leary (Wanganui) Obeone Kanobe 1, Drew Carson (Putaruru) Double Shott 2, Tristan Thomas (Rotorua) Airborne MVNZ 3, Emily Hayward-Morgan (Te Awamutu) Wasabi North 4, Drew Carson (Te Awamutu) Winston V Driene 5, Steffi Whittaker (Christchurch) Ngahiwi Cruise 6.

Caledonian Holdings Amateur Rider Series Grand Final: Glen Hicks (Hastings) Kiwi Hope 1, Diana Cottle (Palmerston North) Morpheus Rising 2, Merran Hain (Gisborne) Untouchable 3, Hannah Trott (Inglewood) Vanguard 4, Laura McGregor (Auckland) LC Bergla 5, Graeme Isaacson (Waipukurau) Pokere 6.